Two tier 40-over league

Mar 5, 2021 | 2021

Cricket Switzerland’s new league format for 2021

The growth of the domestic game and the desire to progress the senior men’s game ahead of admission to the ICC, are the main driving forces behind the is decision to introduce a two tier 40 over league format in 2021.

The top tier is called the Cricket Switzerland Premier League (CSPL) and will consist of eight teams, while the second tier is called the Cricket Switzerland National League (CSNL).

The CSPL season is scheduled to start on the first weekend of April and will conclude on the final weekend of September. The team with the highest number of points will be crowned as champions and which teams will be relegated. The CSNL will also begin the first weekend of April but will conclude on 31st August, providing 4-5 weekends to play quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final to determine who will be promoted as champions & runners-up of the CSNL.

How the top eight teams were chosen

Geneva CC, Zurich Nomads CC, St Gallen CC, Power CC, Zurich Crickets CC, Olten CC, Cossonay CC & Bern CC are the top eight teams and will begin in the premier division.

The league committee compiled data for all the teams over the seasons 2017 – 2019 (3 years) and the top eight teams have been chosen based on the number of average points gained per match over the CSPL games played over the last 3 seasons.

How promotion will work

The remaining teams, Geneva SL CC, Geneva XI Stars CC, Winterthur CC, CERN CC, GICC, Aargau CC, Zug CC, Zurich Lions CC, Pakhtoon CC, Novartis CC and new admittances Geneva United, Basel, Wettingen & Swiss Afghans have been split according to geography between an eastern decision, a central & a western division. Playing on a home & away basis, the top two teams from each division, plus the two best 3td place teams will make up a play-off round.

The finalists & semi-finalists ill be promoted to Premier Division replacing the two teams that are relegated.

Promotion is not compulsory. Teams winning promotion may decide they do not want to commit to the Premier Division, in which case the next in line will join the Premier Division.

Further information

For more information on the proposed league structure, please contact Asvin Lakkaraju.